Tags

, , ,

Going for a classic this week…

26500063023

 

This is a close up of one of Gustav Klimt’s work . I’m sure everyone knows of his work, his most famous painting probably being ‘The Kiss’.

Gustav Klimt was an Austrian symbolist painter and one of the most prominent members of the Vienna Secession movement. Klimt was born in Vienna in July 1862
This image is taken from a series of painting belonging to the ‘Golden Phase’ 1899-1910 for which he received positive critical reaction and much success. Many of his paintings from this period used gold leaf.
You can find out all about Klimt be checking out this website.
What I particularly like about Klimt’s work is the way he portrays females… His painting method was very deliberate and painstaking at times and he required lengthy sittings by his subjects. Saying of his owen work – “I have never painted a self-portrait. I am less interested in myself as a subject for a painting than I am in other people, above all women…There is nothing special about me. I am a painter who paints day after day from morning to night…Whoever wants to know something about me… ought to look carefully at my pictures.”
