Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

A step up from Art of the week if you like…

I wanted to share with you all a local success story that inspires me.

Portsmouth Artist My Dog Sighs previews his show ‘Walk by, ignore me, forget you ever saw me’ at the West Bank Gallery this evening and over the last few months I have enjoyed following his journey via social media and local hype. This local creative legend deserves every success he gets and I am excited to watch him on his continued journey.

viewer-1

A bit about the artist from the website: (get yourself over there for the full bio)

My Dog Sighs’s style is characterised by the combination of melancholic and often naive portraiture with the use of found materials including abandoned food cans.

After 10 years of giving his art away for free as part of the now infamous Free Art Friday project, My Dog Sighs has this year finally found himself strapped in to a well-deserved meteoric rise. With an incredible international following in Israel, Japan and of course the UK, three sold out shows under his belt, and astronomical numbers on Facebook and Youtube; My Dog Sighs is fast becoming an important figure on the contemporary art scene.

I insist you all visit his website and follow him on Instagram and Twitter . You won’t be sorry…. the daily teases have been awesome recently!!!!

I hope he doesnt mind but I would love to share with you some of my favourite recent posts I’ve enjoyed viewing…

viewer-3viewer-2viewer-6Me being me, of course I adore the bejewelled indian, day of the dead and geisha ones!!! But he does so much more, it’s almost like a little can man personality to suit everyone out there…. I’ll let you check out the other styles and choose your own favourite and to think that if you happen to be in the right place at the right time, you could just walk right past one of these little gems and take them home….

local company Strong Island Media recently made a couple of promo films about MDS, the exhibition and his habit of leaving can mans and other art on the street for people to find and enjoy…. you can watch the 2 films here….

‘Lost and Found on the Circle Line’ with My Dog Sighs from Strong Island Media on Vimeo.

My Dog Sighs – ‘Walk by, ignore me. Forget you ever saw me’ from Strong Island Media on Vimeo.

So in summary, if you are into art and serious talent you must go check out this incredible artist and go see his show… it will be on til the 31st March and you will be sorry if you miss it!

Gallery: London West Bank Gallery, 133-137 Westbourne Grove, London W11 2RS info@londonwestbank.com | www.londonwestbank.com  | Tel: 020 7221 2847 |Fb event page

viewer-4viewer-8

viewer-5

 

 

 

 

 

viewer-7

viewer-2viewer-1

 

 

 

 

 

I wish him every success and hope that in the middle of all the chaos he manages a minute to step away from  it all and be proud of what he has achieved… in the mayhem and excitment, it’s essential to really see what it is he has really created beyond the actual artwork…

Footnote: all images belong to My Dog Sighs and have been shared from the MDS instagram page.

