Tags

, , , , , , ,

A couple of weeks ago whilst I was up in London for a course, I stayed with my lovely friends and got invited to their lovely friends house for dinner one night…

Kelly enthusiastically told me about Robyn & Tom’s famous raclette nights…. I had no idea what a raclette was but promises of beautifully grilled meat, fish and vegetables and a social eating experience was enough persuasion I needed and excited I was!

We wrapped up warm and strolled round the corner to their lovely little home…. drinks were offered on arrival and bowls of fresh ingredients were laid out ready for the famous raclette…

For those (like me) who don’t know what a Raclette is, it’s basically a grill… Not to be confused with a dish indigenous to parts of Switzerland where a Raclette cheese round is heated then scraped onto diners’ plates… the raclette I’m talking about is a modern way of doing things… An electric table-top grill with small pans beneath, known as coupelles, in which to melt slices of cheese (over potatoes if you do things the way we did!).  Wikipedia explains it perfectly….”Generally the grill is surmounted by a hot plate or griddle. The cheese is brought to the table accompanied by platters of potatoes, other vegetables and meat/fish. These are then mixed with potatoes and topped with cheese in the small, wedge-shaped coupelles that are placed under the grill to melt and brown the cheese, the other ingredients can be grilled on the top of the raclette.  The emphasis in raclette dining is on relaxed and sociable eating and drinking, the meal often running to several hours.”

And that’s exactly what we did… a really fun evening and eating experience and boy oh boy the food though simple was seriously tasty…. I was hooked!

Obviously I snapped away in between selecting, serving and eating…. I now have my eye on buying one and have booked the girls in for a dinner party next month…. What’s not to love… just a little preparation, then the evening can be spent with your guests rather then slaving away in the kitchen…

So a huge thank you to Robyn and Tom to inviting me to their Raclette dinner party, I’m 100% converted!

DSCF7073 DSCF7076 DSCF7079 DSCF7080 DSCF7083 DSCF7084 DSCF7089 DSCF7090

If you, like me, want to jump on the Raclette bandwagon you can buy them here, here and here.

