Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

My deepest, sincerest apologies for my recent disappearance. I have just finished a wonderful project with D-Day Museum, Southsea (more on that later) and it’s taken over my life a little the last few weeks but I’m back and I promise once you see today’s offerings your forgiveness will be plentiful…

Remember back in July when I promised to start sharing with you companies and products that I covent and love…? Well that’s exactly what I plan to do today…

We’re heading a little further afield for todays lust-worthy brand, the exquisite ‘Reed Smith’ aka the talented Tankia Reed who resides and works in NSW Australia.

Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.26.43 Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.23.16Tanika designs and crafts the most tactile and beautiful knotted artworks and wall hangings. I first discovered her on Instagram where I fell in love with her photos, her work and lifestyle. A beautiful mumma of two, who works from home in what seems a wonderful creative environment with her husband and 2 small girls.

Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.24.08

Over the last few years my admiration and fascination with macrame has grown and Tanika has only added to that love.

Tanika has a natural approach to her work, intricately layering and knotting an eclectic use of found objects and plant material. Her choice of materials include natural fibres and antique pieces that carry historic value.

Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.25.29 Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.26.09

She describes her work as “a romantic oxymoron; the marriage of delicate femininity of woven cotton with the rugged masculinity and strength of antiquated industrial objects, old hand tools and wood burnt timber. Each piece takes days to complete using hundreds, sometimes thousands of knots, the design evolving as my hands work the cotton. I am inspired by the wild grasses and flowers growing in the valley where we live, pine forests, vintage folk art and the unique and wonderful stories attached to old treasures.”

Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.29.15 Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.26.24

If you’re falling for The Reed Smith like I have, now’s a good time to share some links with you…. Firstly here’s The Reed Smith official website, where you can find out all about Tanika, visit the shop and find out more about the processes behind her work. I also recommend you check out her blog for musings on life, work and motherhood. Also you must follow her on instagram!

Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.26.58

Now…. I’m going to share a little secret with you… (and I’m planning well ahead here so don’t judge me) I’ve decided that I wanted lots of macrame on my wedding day, hanging plants and beautiful woven backdrop so imagine my utter glee when I discovered that Tanika also makes wedding related items…..eekkkkk….. I have now promised myself a bouquet weave and I LOVE her Mr & Mrs signs too!!! You heard it here first so no one local steal my ideas haha…. but honestly, aren’t they just beautiful!!!

Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.28.38 Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.28.55 Screen shot 2015-10-25 at 12.28.17So there you go… I hope you enjoyed and I’ll be back soon with some more talented folks making beautiful things!!

*All images belong to Tanika Reed | The Reed Smith – used with permission from various social media pages.

