Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I have been a busy girl of late, not only was it Easter (aka a few days off with my man) but I also celebrated my 32nd Birthday… all in all… a fun filled few days of much merriment and lots of very lovely people…

So… lets start at the beginning – Good Friday (and what a good Friday it was) After a lazy morning we headed to our favourite breakfast spot Southsea Coffee Co. I had a well loved and always delicious Tostada but I must admit I was a tad jealous of Maxwell’s Moroccan inspired special!

DSCF1602 DSCF1601

After that we decided to get off the island and head to the nearest bit of green we could think of… We decided on Lyndhurst (unfortunately it seemed we weren’t the only ones) After a bit of a queue we abandoned the car in a lay-by and strolled past car upon car into the nearby town.

DSCF1616 DSCF1603 DSCF1610 DSCF1612

A well deserved pint and a stroll round the vintage and charity shops a few happy hours were spent and we left with a pasty and chips in search of somewhere pretty to sit.

DSCF1617 DSCF1618 DSCF1620 DSCF1624

We enjoyed a late lunch looking out over the stunning New Forest and then headed back home ignoring the still queuing traffic. Once back in local territory we headed to Still & West and enjoyed a drink or two watching the sun set over Gosport.

DSCF1630

On Saturday I spent the majority of the day cleaning in preparation for a dinner party with a few of my lovely friends. 8 of us dined around our little dining table and a blooming lovely time was had by all… such a lovely time that I kind of forgot to take many photos. We got through an obscene amount of booze and enjoyed a rather scrumptious raclette!

Screen shot 2016-04-06 at 20.43.02 Screen shot 2016-04-06 at 20.43.22 Screen shot 2016-04-06 at 20.43.37On Sunday (Easter Sunday obviously) we woke (a little fuzzy headed) and after clearing away the bottles and party remains we started our day how any good Easter Sunday should begin… with chocolate eggs, disney films and a blanket on the sofa. Clear blue skies and sunshine teased us from the other side of the curtains and we gave into it’s promises, grabbed our bikes and headed outside to blow the cobwebs (ahem woozy heads) away.

DSCF1632

I noticed a few days earlier that we’d missed our non-date anniversary (the first day we spent together back on 9/3/12) so in honour of the day my oh-so-romantic fiancé planned a tribute to that day. As the Hayling Ferry is no more, we went for the next best option, the Gosport Ferry….

DSCF1634 DSCF1661 DSCF1652 DSCF1647 DSCF1638 DSCF1636

Unbeknownst to me a hot soup and prosecco picnic had been packed and looking back towards The spinnaker Tower, nestled behind some plants we took shelter from the winds (hello storm Katie) and had our selves a belated non-date reminiscent date! I have to admit, I think that lying outside, with the sun warming your face is one of the best feelings ever!

DSCF1667 DSCF1670 DSCF1671

In the evening a few more special friends joined me at Sant Yago‘s new underground speak-easy-esq bar for a few cocktails and more good times! Yay to good friends!   ❤

Easter Monday… (and we’re nearly there I promise) started with a lie in. Storm Katie was a feisty little lady last night resulting in not much sleep… Maxwell, concerned about the welfare of his various boats and vehicles suggested we head to Emsworth, I suggested seen we were in that neck of the woods we make a pitstop in the awesome Sausage and Mash pub.

DSCF1675 DSCF1676 DSCF1674The boats (Maxwell’s own and various ones he’s working on) were all fine, luckily escaping Katie’s windy clutches. Whilst having a mooch around we caught up with Maxwell’s friend who was woking out on the water and considering the wild weather last night the Mill Pond was utterly still and everywhere was ever-so peaceful.

DSCF1672 DSCF1673You wouldn’t exactly call it warm though so we headed for the Sussex brewery to warm up and enjoyed a couple of games and a couple of bangers (and mash). In the eve Pappa Lo & the lovely Rosilyn popped over for a cuppa and to deliver a birthday present.

Finally, after dragging it out all weekend, the big day had arrived! Whoo Hoo…. Unfortunately my weird new morning allergy hadn’t got the memo so woke me up at 6am… I escaped to the sofa, blanket in tow, so not to wake my sleeping lover (as I do most mornings) Luckily I managed to get a little extra sleep and was re woken a few hours later in a much more pleasant way. We started the day by opening a few cards and some pressies…

DSCF1677 DSCF1678Presents done we showered, dressed and headed out for a late brekkie, this time at Jam & Bowler. From there it was onwards to some more charity shops in a bid to add to our ever growing wedding collection of bits & bobs! (Exciting)

DSCF1682DSCF1683Unfortunately Cosham proved rubbish so we headed to Winchester… After a bit of better luck the rain arrived so it only seem right to take refuge inside Maison Blanc and dry off with the help of a savoury croissant and a slice of cake. (It’s a Birthday so calories don’t count ok)

DSCF1684 DSCF1685 DSCF1688From there, a few more shops then onwards to our favourite Winchester Pub, The Black Boy… 

DSCF1691

Nestled on a beat up old table next to the fire, surround by the weird and wonderful, we enjoyed a few (too many) glasses of wine and some games (hello old pacman)

DSCF1695 DSCF1699 DSCF1689DSCF1692 DSCF1701By this stage it was dark outside and I was a little tipsy, Maxwell said he had one last surprise and I had 5 mins to finish my drink… Off we headed and we ended up at the awesome River Cottage Canteen!

I had never been before by by golly it was good! By some strange coincidence it was also Veg Out Night, their monthly vegetarian only evening. If you haven’t been before I 100% recommend you do!

DSCF1718 DSCF1717 DSCF1702

We had an amazing dinner and literally cleared our plates! Also, (because I feel it needs saying) the food was SO reasonably priced!!

DSCF1706 DSCF1707 DSCF1708 DSCF1710 DSCF1711 DSCF1714 DSCF1715Utterly stuffed and content Maxwell had one last surprise, he had brought me (with help from some lovely family members) a super cool Fugifilm intax mini 90 (wow) and gave me the most beautiful card… (I 100% promise it didn’t make me cry……)

DSCF1709 DSCF1713 DSCF1712 So there you have it…. my utterly wonderful birthday surrounded by good friends, the love of my life and good food. What’s not to like!   ❤  Same time next year?DSCF1703

