Tags

, , , , , , ,

Tell me something… When was the last time you opened up your browser and saw a beautiful image of a body shape that looked just like yours?

collage-vertical-croppedI stumbled across this article the other day and it made me smile and made me think.

The awesome and internationally known blogger/author/feminist/self-love enthusiast/trouble maker (her words not mine) Jes Baker teamed up with feminist fine art photographer Liora K to bring you 67 untouched nude photos of women.

The project; ‘Your body ain’t wrong girlfriend’ had a simple mission… to spread the word and highlight that all bodies are different, and that’s ok.

Isn’t it true, that when you flick through a magazine, or watch the TV you are bombarded with images of women that a very small percentage can relate to. I know my girlfriends come in a variety of shapes and sizes, with bits they love and bits they don’t (I should point out regardless of their shape and size they are all mega babes) but few, if any would fall into the category/pigeon hole of media worthy body types… and if that’s true for me and my circle of girls, chances are the same matter appeals to hundreds of thousands of women across the world.

It’s a fact that the images we are shown through the media represent a very small proportion of the true size of women’s bodies so it figures that by comparing ourselves we are limiting ourselves and creating a culture of low confidence and low self-esteem.

We are also teaching our male counterparts that if we don’t like they do in the magazines, then we are wrong. As important as it is to help raise women’s confidence, I think it’s equally important to educate men on what real women’s bodies look like.

It’s not rocket science is it?!!? Only last night when I was teaching my fashion school (we were doing editorial photo shoots) did one of my class confide to me that she was using meal replacement shakes…. this girl is stunning, and only 14…how sad that she is having to worry about issues like this already, comparing herself to a unrealistic and unattainable body goal. I tried to explain to her about confidence being what is important and that you can have body confidence regardless of your size, hell, I’m hardly a size 12 and that what really mattered was being happy and being healthy (and that has no direct link to your size)

I hope my words helped a little, but that’s one young girl amongst millions and to really change the issue we as a culture need to start thinking differently…

Jes, who masterminded the photography project explains why she did it…

“When was the last time you saw an image of skin markings that looked just like yours? When was the last time you saw an image of breasts that looked just like yours? An ass that looked just like yours? Scars that looked just like yours? A belly that looked just like yours?
Unless you’re a celebrity look alike and have real time Photoshop (like, a program that follows and moves with you) I’m going to guess that for the majority of us…it’s been a while.

It’s been a while since we’ve (or maybe we’ve never) seen our body positively represented with that overwhelming flood of images that fills our social media feeds, televisions, and magazines. I think it’s time to change that…

So much of the female body that we see is pushed up. Pinned down. Sucked in, tucked in, and airbrushed. Its only presentable state is when it’s altered, and so when we look at ourselves in the mirror (naked, untucked, and vulnerable) we say ‘My body must be wrong’…Your body ain’t wrong, girlfriend.”

On seeing the completed project Jes said, “I was in awe when Liora showed me the final images…each and every body is so gorgeous to me. I’ve flipped through these images time and time again, every click deserving its own breath. I see it. I see the beauty. I see the diversity. I see the vulnerability. I see the power.”

It’s a dream that in the future everyone can feel that they feel themselves represented in the media regardless of shape, size, religion, skin colour, gender, disability etc.

We are all different. That’s a fact… it’s what makes us unique and special and those qualities need sharing.

Jes wishes to repeat this campaign again and again until the unrealistic perceptions of beauty become a “blur”, let’s hope this ‘real’ movement continues to grow until we can all feel proud of the awesome body that we get to call our own.

You can find the original post here and Jes’ website here and Liora’s photography website here.

 

