Tags

, , , , , ,

a wedding top 7It has occurred to me since looking at dresses that the bridal fashion world (who am i kidding the fashion world in general) seems to be ignoring a huge percentage of their potential market by only using size 6/8 models for their bridal campaigns.

The Guardian stated that the average woman in the UK is 5ft 3in tall, weighs 11 stone (70.2kg) and wears a size 16.

So knowing that, why are all bridal models still one generic shape… it doesn’t make sense to me and it probably doesn’t to thousands of other women who identify as plus size. Even dresses which are advertised as plus sized are modelled on tall skinny models???

I would identify as plus size, I’ve got boobs (literally huge boobs) and a tummy and a bum and I can easily wear anything between a 12 & 18 depending on where I shop. Luckily I have to confidence to ignore what’s written on the label and instead concentrate on if the garment fits my shape.

So considering the stats I’m plus size and I’m ok with that. I also fall into the ‘average’ band and yet it’s occured to me recently that what is on offer to me when it comes to dresses may be limited because of the shape I am.

Type ‘plus size bridal’ into google (go on I dare you) and you’re greeted with stuffy/traditional/”flattering” and safe gowns that would literally have me running a mile.

Yes I want my dress to flatter my shape, but I don’t want to play it safe or compromise on style because of the size I am….

I am hoping that over time more dress designers will consider using a bigger variety of shaped women to advertise their mainstream gowns but until then and for this weeks Wedding Top Seven I want to shine the spotlight on seven stunning brides to dared to be different and plus size gowns that are actually beautiful.

Obviously this is my personal taste and I know won’t appeal to everyone but it’s a subject that I’m passionate about and I hope that when I come to do the whole dress things that I’m not limited or feel compromised just because I don’t look like the girls modelling them.

onlinelook6This stunning slip gown from Stone Fox Bride is simply beautiful. It’s from their Spring 2016 collection

Screen shot 2016-05-23 at 12.08.26This beautiful Oleg Organza gown from David’s Bridal is gorgeous!!!

onlinelook10_5b489c70-2ab8-4d37-b005-9cf0dc29f6b1

This fun, flirty bell-sleeved number is another offering from Stone Fox Bride, again from their 2016 Spring collection.

3I’m not sure who the designer is for this gorgeous gown but I found it on plussize-outfits.com

jpeg3-600x750Erin looks seriously sensational in this Paolo Sebastian blush dress. (photo by Eric Ronald)

5

Blogger Nicolette Mason dared to be different in this amazing gown which was custom made by Christian Siriano. 

956091This pretty & romantic Claire Pettibone dress has a beautiful bohemian feel!

So there you have it… i hope if you consider yourself ‘average’ then these dresses will inspire you that you can be anything but average on your big day!

