Tags

, , , , , ,

…Luckily ‘being on time’ wasn’t one of my N.Y.Resolutions!

Happy New Year friends! I hope you all saw in the New Year surrounded by loved ones and with a smile on your face! We sure did!

In the days between Christmas and New Year we chilled, saw friends and family and tried to relax as much as possible… On NYE after a big ol’ lego session with my cousin and his kids, we donned our glad-rags and hopped into the car and up to the big smoke we headed.

dscf7906 dscf7903 dscf7909

We were to see in the New Year with one of my best friends (and fellow bride-to-be) Becca and her handsome hubby-to-be Edward. We arrived and the shenanigans began… First up beer pong! Even though I HATE beer and throw like a girl (apologies to any female discus throwers out there) this was super fun and a great way to meet and befriend fellow guests!

dscf7914 dscf7912

After that it was time for some food. Edward is a bit of a whizz in the kitchen and whipped up a delish supper for us all which went down a treat!

dscf7907 dscf7908 dscf7919

The rest of the evening whizzed by in a blur of champagne, dancing and chatting and playing games. Before we knew it, it was 10 to midnight and we all ventured outside with a posh bottle of fizz in hand. Corks popped, shouted toasts of “we’re getting married this year”, and quite a bit of kissing and 2017 begun in the best possible of ways.

dscf7922 dscf7928

We then began the most amusing backyard firework display…. 8 tipsy adults and £70 of fireworks… what could possibly go wrong! haha Luckily we all escaped without injury and many ohs and ahhs (and ha has) were had!!

dscf7935 dscf7951 dscf7956 dscf7958

We stumbled into bed in the early hours of the morning and I kissed the man who I was to marry this year goodnight.

dscf7978

We woke late and joined our friends for a bit of post-party breakfast then began a very lazy start to the 2017 (sofa, snoozes, pjs, snacks and Harry Potter/disney) When afternoon came around we dragged ourselves off the sofa and Maxwell and I cleaned ourselves up then bid our friends goodbye. We treated ourselves to a drink and some dinner at The Powder Keg (a lovely little find) So there you have it… that’s how we all saw in the new year… how about you??

Now on to the new year…. and my resolutions for 2017:

I don’t know if I mentioned this last year but in 2016 (because of saving for the wedding and to just see if I could) I didn’t buy myself anything (clothes, shoes, accessories etc) bar wedding related items and a coat at the very end of the year, I did just what I set out to do. This proved to me a simple thing, that I didn’t need to buy anything new. Sure, I could probably do with some more tights and socks now but I really didn’t need or want for anything. This way of thinking, I think, will stick with me, and is something I want to continue into 2017. The world of disposable fashion is bigger then ever and if I can do my little bit and not buy into it then that’s got to be a good thing right?! It also means then when I do get something new I will really treasure and appreciate it!

I have also made a promise to be kind to myself and my body. The way I speak about it, think about it and what I feed and do to it! I began last year a slow and steady mini body overhaul/confidence mission and I continue with that in 2017. To be thankful for the gift that my body gives to me, wobbly bits and all. To be proud of it as it is, and if it does “improve” well that’s great too! I also want to continue with filling it with healthy and nourishing food and plenty of water, to not deny myself the things I want and the occasional treat, but equally to not over-indulge or do anything to the excess!! I’m going to also try and cut back on the alcohol and meat, because thats good for you too (plus I fell in love with a vegetarian with only one kidney so it kind of helps)

Next up is a simple one, and ties in nicely with the above. I’m going to try and stop feeling guilty about relaxing! I have a weird habit of chilling out, reading a book or something, and when someone comes in, I stop and try and make it look like I’m busy or something… I think ties in with being self employed and working from home. Whatever the reason I’m going to try and stop. To chill out with a book for an hour or two is ok. It’s my life and as long as I can pay the bills, on my days off, if I feel I need a bit of TLC and want to loose myself in a film or a book I’m going to do just that (and not feel guilty about it)

I also want to try and distance myself from my phone more. After watching this clip (which if you’ve not watched you should) I realised I’m guilty of using my phone too much and scrolling without even thinking about it. So I’ve made a little pact with myself to not be so attached to it; to not check it the moment I wake up, to sometimes just put it away and look out the window and generally just use it less!

Finally to keep working towards my goals and the things that mean most to me… the wedding, my business, our first real home, my relationship, my friendships. I believe you get out of life what you put into it so with this in mind I will approach all these things with passion, enthusiasm and zest!

So there you have it, my resolutions and ambitions for 2017. I know already, regardless of what happens it will always be a special year in my life, the one when I finally become a wife! How very exciting!!

